top of page

Laser Cutter Test Run

Today I played with the Laser Cutter. I bought 5 yards of a white breathable fabric.

I wasn't sure if i'd be able to laser cut on the fabric so I ran a couple of test. The picture below has the following settings. Roster power -30% ,Speed- 100%. At this setting the fabric lost a lot of it's integrity, It lost it's flexibility. When I pulled it broke.

I then went ahead and adjusted the settings. The picture below was cut at a Roster power of 25%, Speed- 100%. As you can see the color is much lighter than the first trial. Tat was a good sign. However when i stretched it, exactly like before it broke.

After these two trials it was clear that laser cutting on this fabric might not be the best tactic

So my teacher gave me the idea to make a stencil and spray paint onto the fabric so i started to do just that! However i was rostering not vector cutting so it was just engraving into the paper.

My goals for tomorrow are to laser cut a couple names into a stencil. Spray paint on my fabric and see how it is absorbed. The last resort would be sending the pattern to a company and having it printed for me. However i really want to do this on my own so fingers crossed!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page